Tuolumne County Garden Club

Calendar     About Us     Club Photos     Contact Us


'The TCGC Mascot Flower is the Iris'

P.O. Box 3580, Sonora, CA  95370-3580
Chartered 1956

Affiliate of Valley Lode District, California Garden Clubs, Inc.

and National Garden Clubs, Inc.   



April 2017

"Plant Dreams - Pull Weeds - and grow a Happy Life"

As of the March 9th meeting, we have decided to meet on the second Tuesday of each month.

AND.....we will no longer be meeting at the Sonora Senior Center, but at Jeb's Restaurant in Sonora.

We didn't have a big turnout at the March 9th meeting at the Senior Center, but we had a great speaker, Karl Rodefer.  He came with a lot of information about water for all of us.  At that meeting, we also decided to change our meeting date for the second Tuesday of each onth.  The February meeting we had at Jeb's was very nice so now we will be going there for the rest of this term.

Since our May 9 meeting will be our attendance at the Valley Lode District meeting, there are some important business issues we MUST address at our April meeting.  1)  The payment of dues for the 2017/2018 Garden Club year.  The dues will continue to be $25.00 for the ext year and, since we need to pay our CGCI dues early in June, we will need to start collecting them at our April meeting.  Please come to the April meeting, prepared to pay your dues for next year or send them to Anne Plummer.

We also have a sign-up sheet for those wishing to attend the Valley Lode District meeting on May 9.  The cost of the Italian Buffet luncheon at the event is $27.00 and you can make your checks out to "Newman Garden Club".  I would like to send in one group reservation to have them in before the April 25th deadline.  We will carpool on May 9 to the Turlock Golf and Country Cub for this meeting.

Our field trip on May 16 will be to attend the Oakdale Garden Club's salad luncheon.  Cost for this event is $10.0 and it is well worth the price.  We had the best time last year and can't wait to attend again.  We will turn in our reservations for this event while we are at the Valle Lode District meeting so if you want to do this, please be prepared to pay at the April meeting.  Make check out to "Oakdale Garden Club".


All of our presiding officers have volunteered to continue on with their positions for another term so we have a slate of executive officers to present to you.  Please see the ballot at the bottom of this newsletter and cast your vote at the April meeting.  If you can't attend, but want to vote, please call Pat Mallen at 209-352-9952.  She will report the phone and written ballot votes at the April meeting.

Please let me know if you would like to fill any of these chair positions:

Blue Star  /  Field Trips  /  Internet-Facebook  /  Membership  /  Penny Pines  /  Poster Contest  /  Door/Raffle Prizes (only one needed for each meeting) / Scholarship / Wildlife-Conservation  /  Yearbook

Our speaker in April will be doing a floral demonstration and I know it will be wonderful so you might want to bring a friend.

Also please fill out and bring your ballot to this meeting so Pat Mallen can tally them.

Dates to Remember:

April 11 - TCGC meeting, 11 a.m. sharp

Tuesday, May 9th is the Valley Lode District meeting in Turlock.

Tuesday, June 13th - we will have our meeting at Jeb's and we will be inviting our State Poster Contest winners to join us.

If it seems necessary to change these dates again, I will let you know as soon as I can.  Thank you for being so patient while we get our time and place settled.


​Tuolumne Co. Garden Club



Club Objective
'To create, promote and develop interest in the knowledge of floriculture and horticulture, gardening, floral and landscape design, plant and bird life, to encourage civic beautification and roadside development and litter control and to assist in projects for the conservation of our natural resources'.

The Club Flower
IRIS - 'Iris' is the Greek word for Rainbow.  It is a flower of many varieties and colors and its popularity is attributed to its distinctive shape.  They grow in temperate regions all over the world.  The Iris is recorded in history as far back as 1500 B.C. by being carved on the brow of the Great Sphinx of Egypt.

Current Officials & Past Presidents

CURRENT Executive Board Members:

President:            Charlotte Tucker
Vice-President:    Linda Santos
Treasurer:            Anne Plummer
Secretary:             Joyce A. Richardson


Lillian Arave, 1956-58
Katy-Lue Arave Thrower, 1958-59
Irene Schultz, 1959-60
Betty Murphy, 1960-61
Gertrude Rasmussen, 1961-62
Elizabeth James , 1962-63
Hazel Stobough, 1963-65
Irene Ponce, 1965-68
Sevilla Pool, 1972-74
Alice Clark, 1974-76
Clovis Jones, 1976-77
Adelaide Winstead, 1978-79
Ellen Burke, 1979-81
Elberta Spaulding, 1981-82
Ellen Burke, 1982-84
Dorothy Easton, 1984-85
June Noland, 1985-87
Marilyn Scheller, 1987-89
Mariam Free, 1989-91
Muriel Warwick, 1991-92
Mary Walsh, 1992-95
Arline Borowick, 1995-97
Mary Walsh, 1997-98
Merry Creed, 1998-2000
Joyce Richardson, 2000-03
Linda Dresbach, 2003-04
Sue Armbruster, 2004-07
Linda Santos, 2007-09
Liana Shulver, 2009-11
Claire Moritz, 2011-2013

Vicki Smith, 2013-2015